A Drunken Dream and Other Stories by Moto Hagio

Title: A Drunken Dream and Other Stories

Author: Moto Hagio

Context: A Drunken Dream and Other Stories is a Japanese manga anthology illustrated and written by the legendary manga artist, Moto Hagio. A number of short stories originally from 1970 to 2007 are contained in the collection.

Synopsis: Moto Hagio reinvented the girl’s comics (shojo comics) genre, around four decades ago with an ongoing series of tenderly poetic, psychologically complex and whip smart stories. This ambitious manga line of graphic novels for the first time in English comprises some of the finest tales.

Her whole career spans across a lot of her work, A Drunken Dream and Other Stories, right from ‘Bianca’ of the 1970s to ‘The Willow Tree’ of the 2007s, the collection includes the full-colour, mind-bending story, the haunting ‘The Child Who Comes Home’, ‘Iquana Girl’, ‘Autumn Journey’, ‘Angel Mimic’, the errie conjoined-twins shocker ‘Hanshin” Half-god’ and ‘Marie, Ten Years Later’ one of the saddest of all romances.

A feature-length interview with Moto Hagio is supplemented in ‘A Drunken Dream and Other Stories’, in which she discusses her career, her art and her life with similar combination of warmth, candor and wit radiating from each panel of her comics.

Some of the work collections of comics’ masters make the case for greatness of their creators as inarguably and instantaneously as this anthology of short stories, from the godmother of shojo (girls) manga. Ornate and intricate work of Hagio in the vein of Moebius masterpiece is nothing short of astonishing. The book for sure gets its hooks into the reader, unwilling to let go, with its fable-like storytelling power, especially in the story of a girl with the painstakingly drawn lizard face. A genre that thrilled millions was born from the Moto Hagio’s pen and mind.

Other works by the author:

1969 – Ruru to Mimi

1971-1974 – Seireigari

1971 – 11-gatsu no Gymnasium

1972-1976 – The Poe Clan

1972-1976 – Tottemo Shiwase Moto-chan

1973-1975 – The Heart of Thomas

1975-1976 – They Were Eleven

1975 – Alois

1977-1978 – Hyaku Oku no Hiru to Sen oku no Yoru

1978-1979 – Star Red

1980-1984 – Mesh

1980 – Houmonsha

1981 – A-A’

1984 – Hanshin

1985-1987 – Marginal

1988-1989 – Flower Festival

1989 – Aoi Tori

1989-1991 – Umi no Aria

1990 – Roma e no Michi

1992 -1994 – Abunai Oke no le

1993-2001- A Cruel God Reigns

2002-2005 – Otherworld Barbara

2012 – Rape Blossoms

2012-2019 – Queen Margot

2013-2015 – Away

2016 – Tenshi Kamoshirenai

2016-2017 – Poe no Ishizoku: Haru no Yume

2018-2019 – Poe no Ichizoku: Unicorn

2019 – Poe no Ichizoku: Himitsu no Hanazono

Which board is better between ICSE and IGCSE? And why What is the difference between Cambridge and IB board What is the Best Way to Prepare for the Math IGCSE Exams What is Physical Education? A Comprehensive Guide to its Importance and Benefits What are the 5 essential elements of PYP