Amsterdam – Ian McEwan – 1998 – 39 – English

Title: Amsterdam

Author: Ian McEwan

Original language: English

Translation(s): 39 languages

Context: Amsterdam (1998) is a translated novel by Ian McEwan. The novel is disguised very intelligently as a comic novel. It is a sharp story about contemporary morality and a book anyone will thoroughly enjoy.

Synopsis: The story is about two old friends Vernon Halliday and Clive Linley who meet on a chilly day in February in the throng outside a crematorium in London. They visit the crematorium to pay their last respects to Molly Lane. Both the friends had been lovers of Molly Lane in the days before they reached at their present notability and reputation. While Vernon Halliday has become the editor of the newspaper, The Judge, Clive has attained success in becoming a modern composer.

Molly was a gutsy and beautiful looking woman who had other lovers as well, especially the Foreign Secretary, Mr.Julian Garmony the notorious right-winger tipped to become the next Prime Minister. Both Vernon and Clive are together to make a pact during the days after the funeral of Molly. The pact was to have such a impact that neither Clive nor Vernon would have foreseen. The moral decision taken by each would be a disastrous one with their friendship being tested to the limits. Julian Garmony would end up fighting for a life in politics.

Other works by the Author:


1978 – The Cement Garden

1981 – The Comfort of Strangers

1987 – The Child in Time

1990 – The Innocent

1992 – Black Dogs

1997 – Enduring Love

2001 – Atonement

2005 – Saturday

2007 – On Chesil Beach

2010 – Solar

2012 – Sweet Tooth

2014 – The Children Act

2016 – Nutshell

2019 – Machines Like Me

Short stories

1975 – First Love, Last Rites (Collection of short stories)

1978 – In Between the Sheets (Collection of short stories)

1995 – The Short Stories (Collection of short stories)

2016 – My Purple Scented Novel

2019 – The Cockroach (Novella)

Children’s fiction

1985 – Rose Blanche

1994 – The Daydreamer


1976 – Jack Flea’s Birthday Celebration

1980 – The Imitation Game


1983 – The Ploughman’s Lunch

1988 – Soursweet

1993 – The Good Son

2017 – On Chesil Beach

2017 – The Children Act


1983 – Or Shall We Die?


2008 – For You

Film adaptations

1984 – Last Day of Summer

1993 – The Cement Garden

1990 – The Comfort of Strangers

1993 – The Innocent

1997 – First Love, Last Rites

2002 – Solid Geometry

2004 – Enduring Love

2007 – Atonement

2017 – On Chesil Beach

2017 – The Children Act

2017 – The Child in Time

Sweet Tooth (In development)