Author: Anai’s Nin

Profile: Angela Anais Juana Antolina Rosa Edelmira Nin y Culmell was professionally known as Anai’s Nin. Anaïs Nin was born in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France to Cuban parents and died in Los Angeles, California, U.S. She was a French-Cuban American diarist, author, writer of short stories and erotica, essayist and novelist. She completed her education at International College, Los Angeles. Hugh Parker Guiler and Robert Pole were her partners.

She spent the early years of her life in Cuba and Spain with around 16 years in France itself with the rest of her life in United States where she became an author.

The last years of her life, Nin spent in Los Angeles, California and succumbed to cervical cancer in 1977.  Amidst renewed critical interest in her work and life, a lot of her works including collections of Little Birds and Delta of Venus were published posthumously.

Writing style: Right from eleven years of age, Anai Nin prolifically wrote journals and continued till the time of death. Her personal relationships and private thoughts were reflected in the journals Nin wrote. Her marriage to Rupert Pole and Hugh Parker Guiler, including her many affairs especially with writer Henry Miller and Otto Rank both of whom who positively impacted Nin and her writings are also described in her journals.  Many short stories, essays, critical studies, novels and volumes of erotica have been written by Nin.

Published Texts:


Journals and Letters

The Early Diary of Anai’s Nin (1914-1931) in four volumes

The Diary of Anai’s Nin, in seven volumes

Henry and June: From A Journal of Love. The Unexpurgated Diary of Anai’s Nin (1931-1932) (1986)

1987 – A Literate Passion: Letters of Anai’s Nin & Henry Miller

1992 – Incest: From a Journal of Love

1995 – Fire: From A Journal of Love

1996 – Nearer the Moon: From A Journal of Love

2013 – Mirages: The Unexpurgated Diary of Anai’s Nin (1939-1947)

2017 – Trapeze: The Unexpurgated Diary of Anai’s Nin (1947-1955)



1936 – House of Incest

1939 – Winter of Artifice

1959 – Cities of the Interior (in five volumes):

·        Ladders to Fire

·        Children of the Albatross

·        The Four-Chambered Heart

·        A Spy in the House of Love

·        Seduction of the Minotaur, originally published as Solar Barque (1958)

1964 – Collages

Short stories

Waste of Timelessness: And Other Early Stories (written before 1932, published posthumously)

1944 – Under a Glass Bell

1977 – Delta of Venus

1979 – Little Birds

2016 – Auletris


1932 – D.H.Lawrence: An Unprofessional Study

1968 – The Novel of the Future

1976 – In Favor of the Sensitive Man

1976 – The Restless Spirit: Journal of a Gemini

Aphrodiisiac: Erotic Drawings


1946 – Ritual in Transfigured Time

1952 – Bells of Atlantis

1954 – Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome

1974 – Anais Nin Observed


Awards and Acknowledgements:

Honorary doctorate from the Philadelphia College of Art

1974 – Elected to the United States National Institute of Arts and Letters

1976 – Presented with a Lost Angeles Times Woman of the Year Award