Cambridge and Baccalaureate Exams | Litcharts | Sparknotes English,Novels Analysis of Wizard of the Crow by Ngũgĩ wa Thiongʼo

Analysis of Wizard of the Crow by Ngũgĩ wa Thiongʼo

Title: Wizard of the Crow

Author: Ngũgĩ wa Thiongʼo

Context: Wizard of the Crow (2004) is a post colonial magisterial comic novel by Ngũgĩ wa Thiongʼo. The novel sums up the twentieth century Africa in context of 2000 years of world history.

Synopsis: The story is set in the fictitious Free Republic of Aburĩria which is ruled despotically by a single man who is called as the Ruler. The novel has made its landmark in literature of postcolonial Africa. Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o though in exile for more than 2 decades has garnered praise and attention worldwide with the scope and power of his work.

Wizard of the Crow set in the ‘Free Republic of Aburĩria commences in ‘the present times’ dramatizes with keenness of observation and caustic humor a war for controlling the souls of the people of Aburĩria. There are a number of contenders including the corrupt Christian Ministry, a descent of wisdom of wisdom and folklore – the eponymous Wizard and the iniquitous Global Bank. Humanity in all its limitless complexity that can surprise almost anyone is revealed the stories fashioned about the ordinary and powerful into the Wizard of the Crow, an impressive and remarkable mosaic. The author’s enigmatic rich and traditional work is indeed a masterpiece and a crowing success thus far in his career.

Other works by the Author:


1964 – Weep Not, Child

1965 – The River Between

1967 – A Grain of Wheat

1977 – Petals of Blood

1980 – Devil on the Cross

1989 – Matigari

Short Story Collections

1974 – A Meeting in the Dark

Read realted notes  William Wordsworth

1976 – Secret Lives and Other Stories

Other Nonfiction

1981 – Education for a National Culture

1983 – Barrel of a Pen: Resistance to Repression in Neo-Colonial Kenya

1986 – Mother, Sing For Me

1986 – Writing against Neo-Colonialism

2009 – Something Torn and New: An African Renaissance

2012 – Globalectics: Theory and the Politics of Knowing

Children’s books

1986 – Njamba Nene and the Flying Bus

1988 – Njamba Nene and the Cruel Chief

1990 – Njamba Nene’s Pistol


1963 – The Black Hermit

1970 – This Time Tomorrow

1976 – The Trial of Dedan Kimathi

1982 – I Will Marry When I Want