Cien Años de Soledad – Gabriel García Márquez – 1967 – > 35 – Spanish

Title: Cien Años de Soledad

Author: Gabriel García Márquez

Original language: Spanish

Translation(s): 35 languages

Context: Cien Años de Soledad (1967) is a novel by Gabriel García Márquez. This remarkable, landmark, bestselling novel has been translated into English as ‘One Hundred Years of Solitude’. Cien Años de Soledad presents the rise and fall of the Buendia family witnesses by societies in Latin America and how within a span of hundred years, Macondo collapses and emerges as new again. Name of the Buendia family is seen spanning across seven generations in the novel.

Synopsis: The novel is the tale of the Buendia family. The incongruous dispute between the need for love and the desire for solitude in imaginative and rich prose has been defined in this magical realism genre.

Absolutely a masterpiece, the novel captures different glories and phases in the history of humans and makes a great impact on the minds of young students studying literature. The theme of this novel is about two families experiencing different stages of life over hundred year period. It captures how the protagonist comes to grips with the past and ways in which the family witnesses doom with this obsession. A new world of the United States is presented by Macondo which seems more like the Promised Land to a lot of people at one point of time. However, it was accepted as another delusion during the course of history.

Other works by the Author:

1962 – In Evil Hour

1975 – The Autumn of the Patriarch

1985 – Love in the Time of Cholera

1989 – The General in His Labyrinth

1994 – Of Love and Other Demons


1955 – Leaf Storm

1961 – No One Writes to the Colonel

1972 – The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Eréndira and her Heartless Grandmother

1981 – Chronicle of a Death Foretold

2004 – Memories of My Melancholy Whores

Short story collections

1947 – Eyes of a Blue Dog

1962 – Big Mama’s Funeral

1972 – The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Eréndira and her Heartless Grandmother

1984 – Collected Stories

1993 – Strange Pilgrims

1955 – A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings


1970 – The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor

1982 – The Solitude of Latin America

1982 – The Fragrance of Guava

1986 – Clandestine in Chile

1991 – Changing the History of Africa: Angola and Namibia

1996 – News of a Kidnapping

1998 – A Country for Children

2002 – Living to Tell the Tale

2019 – The Scandal of the Century: Selected Journalistic Writings, 1950-1984

Hunting Snake Poem Summary
The Way of The Machete
An Afternoon Nap Poem
An Afternoon Nap Poem Analysis
The way of the Machete Summary
Hunting Snake Summary
Hunting Snake
Poem for my Sister Analysis
Her first ball Analysis
Games at Twilight Analysis
Blackberrying Sylvia Plath Analysis
Hunting Snake Line by Line Explanation
Top Girls Analysis
Death and the Maiden by Ariel Dorfman
1984 by George Orwell
Candide by Voltaire
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Anne Hathaway by Carol Ann Duffy
Away, Melancholy by Stevie Smith
Coming by Philip Larkin
Eurydice by Carol Ann Duffy
Funeral Blues (Stop all the clocks)by W. H. Auden
In Your Mind by Carol Ann Duffy
Little Red Cap by Carol Ann Duffy