D H Lawrence

Author: D. H. Lawrence

Profile: D. H. Lawrence was born in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire, England and died in Vence, France. He was an English novelist, poet and writer. He completed his education at University College Nottingham.

Some of his most notable works include Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, Women in Love, John Thomas and Lady Jane, Lady Chatterley’s Lover. His notable short stories include Odour of Chrysanthemums, The Virgin and the Gypsy and The Rocking-Horse Winner.

In the process of giving his own opinions, Lawrence gained a lot of enemies and underwent censorship, official persecution and his creative work was misrepresented, all through the second half of his life. Lawrence spent a major part of his second life in ‘savage pilgrimage’ which is called voluntary exile. He gained public reputation of being a pornographer, at the time of his death and one who did not treasure the immense talents he had. Lawrence has been described as ‘the greatest imaginative novelist of our generation’ according to E.M.Forster. His moral seriousness and artistic integrity have been championed later, by F.R.Leavis, the literary critic.

Writing style: D.H. Lawrence’s genre is modernism. An extended reflection upon how the industrialization and humanity have a dehumanizing effect is represented in his collected works amongst other things. Issues related to emotional health, instinct, sexuality, spontaneity and vitality are explored in his writings.

Published Texts:


1911 – The White Peacock

1912 – The Trespasser

1913 – Sons and Lovers

1915 – The Rainbow

1920 – Women in Love

1920 – The Lost Girl

1922 – Aaron’s Rod

1923 – Kangaroo

1924 – The Boy in the Bush

1926 – The Plumed Serpent

1928 – Lady Chatterley’s Lover

1929 – The Escaped Cock (republished later as The Man Who Died)

Short-story collections

1914 – The Prussian Officer and Other Stories

1911 – England, My England and Other Stories

1922 – The Horse Dealer’s Daughter

1923 – The Fox, The Captain’s Doll, The Ladybird

1925 – St. Mawr and other stories

1928 – The Woman who Rode Away and other stories

1926 – The Rocking-Horse Winner

1929 – Mother and Daughter

1930 – The Virgin and the Gipsy and Other Stories

1930 – Love Among the Haystacks and other stories

`932 – The Lovely Lady and other tales

1934 – The Tales of D.H. Lawrence – Heinemann

1994 – Collected Stories – Everyman’s Library

Poetry Collections

1913 – Love Poems and others

1916 – Amores

1917 – Look! We have come through!

1918 – New Poems

1919 – Bay: a book of poems

1921 – Tortoises

1923 – Birds, Beasts and Flowers

1928 – The Collected Poems of D H Lawrence

1929 – Pansies

1930 – Nettles

1930 –The Triump of the Machine

1932 – Last Poems

1940 – Fire and other poems

1964 – The Complete Poems

1964 – The White Horse

1972 – D.H.Lawrence: Selected Poems

Snake and Other Poems


1913 – The Daughter-in-Law

1914 – The Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd

1920 – Touch and Go

1926 – David

1933 – The Fight for Barbara

1934 – A Collier’s Friday Night

1940 – The Married Man

1941 – The Merry-Go-Round

1965 – The Complete Plays of D.H. Lawrence

1999 – The Plays


Awards and Acknowledgements:

1913 – His novel ‘Sons and Lovers’ is placed ninth now on the Modern Library’s list of the 100 best novels of the 20th century. It is considered one of the finest achievements of D.H. Lawrence and regarded as masterpiece by literary critics.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover – The most notorious and best known novel of D.H. Lawrence

問題. Komora hiperbaryczna i tlenoterapia opinie lekarzy i pacjentów. קג.