El Ingenioso Hidalgo Don Quijote de la Mancha – Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra – 1615 – 140 – Spanish

Title: El Ingenioso Hidalgo Don Quijote la Mancha

Author: Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra

Original language: Spanish

Translation(s): 140 languages

Context: El Ingenioso Hidalgo Don Quijote la Mancha (1605) also called The Ingenious Gentleman Don Quixote of La Mancha or just Don Quixote is a translated novel by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra.  The novel in Spanish has been published in 1605 and 1615 in two parts. The novel often termed as the ‘first modern novel’ is a Western literature founding and widely read literature work. It is considered by most authors to be the best written literary work ever.

Synopsis: El Ingenioso Hidalgo Don Quijote la Mancha is created originally as a satire of chivalric romances that have been in literary style since quite long. The story opens in La Mancha, a village in Spain. A gentleman there is so infatuated with chivalry related books that he assumes a name, Don Quixote and becomes a knight-errant. A realistic description of experiences of the aging knight who is bewildered by reading romances and then embarks on an adventurous journey with Sancho Panza, his down-to-earth attendant, Rocinante, his old horse, then attaches a visor made of pasteboard to an old helmet and also an antique armour suit.

Towards the end of his journey Don Quixote has to return back to his home, according to the battle he loses. Sancho pretends to give himself the neccessary lashings all along the return journey.  Don Quixote falls sick on reaching home.  Finally he abandons chivalry as a foolish fiction and dies.

Other works by the Author:

1585 – La Galatea

1613 – Novelas ejemplares

1615 – Segunda Parte del Ingenioso Cavallero (sic) Don Quixote de la Mancha – Second volume of Don Quixote

1614 – Frontispiece of the Viaje

Dos Canciones à la Armada Invencible

Sonnets – Al Túmulo del Rey Felipe en Sevilla, Canto de Calíope and Epístola a Mateo Vázquez. Viaje del Parnaso, or Journey to Parnassus,

Trato de Argel – Is based on his own experiences

La Numancia – Patriotic work