Khushwant Singh

Author: Khushwant Singh

Profile: Khushwant Singh born as Khushal Singh, is one of the greatest writers and journalists of all times in India. Besides this he has been a diplomat, an editor, a lawyer, a politician, and an information officer. He was born on February 2, 1915 at HadaliPunjab ProvinceBritish India, (now in Punjab, Pakistan). He died on March 20, 2014 at Sujan Singh Park, Delhi.

After completing LL.B degree at London he worked for 8 years in Lahore High Court as lawyer. In 1947 he joined the IFS (Indian Foreign Service) when India gained Independence from British Empire. In 1951 he worked as journalist in the All India Radio after which he joined UNESCO in Paris in 1956 in the Department of Mass Communications. In the year 1974, this versatile genius was honored with the Padma Bhushan, however in 1984 he opposed Operation Bluestar and returned back his award.

Writing style: In 1947 Khushwant Singh gained inspiration from his experiences during the Partition of India and wrote the novel, Train to Pakistan in 1956. Train to Pakistan is Khushwant Singh’s most well known novel. He gained interest in the literary career after becoming a journalist at UNESCO and lawyer at All India Radio. Khushwant Singh is known well for his sarcasm, humour, trenchant secularism and strong love for poetry. Acid wit laces his comparisons of behavioural and social characteristics of both Westerners and people of India.

Published Texts:

Awards and Acknowledgements:

1966 – Rockefeller Grant

1974 – Padma Bhushan

2000 – Honest Man of the Year, Sulabh International

2006 – Punjab Rattan Award, The Government of Punjab

2007 – Padma Vibhushan

2010 – Sahitya Akademi Fellowship by Sahitya Academy of India

2012- All-India Minorities Forum Annual Fellowship Award by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Akhilesh Yadav

2013 – Lifetime achievement award by Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai Litfest

2014 – Fellow of King’s College London


1950 – The Mark of Vishnu and Other Stories

1953 – The History of Sikhs

1956 – Train to Pakistan

1957 – The Voice of God and Other Stories

1959 – I Shall Not Hear the Nightingale

1959 – The Sikhs Today

1962 – The Fall of the Kingdom of the Punjab

1963 – A History of the Sikhs

1963 – Ranjit Singh: The Maharaja of the Punjab

1966 – Ghadar 1915: India’s first armed revolution

1966 – A History of the Sikhs (2nd edition)

1967 – A Bride for the Sahib and Other Stories

1971 – Black Jasmine

1984 – Tragedy of Punjab

1989 – The Collected Stories of Khushwant Singh

1990 – Delhi: A Novel

1993 – Not a Nice Man to Know: The Best of Khushwant Singh

1993 – We Indians

1995 – Women and Men in My Life

1997 – Declaring Love in Four Languages

1990 – India: An Introduction by Khushwant Singh

1999 – The Company of Women

2002 – Truth, Love and a Little Malice

2003 – The End of India

2004 – Burial at the Sea

2004 – Paradise and Other Stories

2004 – A History of the Sikhs: 1469-1838

2005 – Death at My Doorstep

2005 – A History of the Sikhs: (1839-2004)

2006 – The Illustrated History of the Sikhs

2009 – Why I Supported the Emergency: Essays and Profiles

2010 – The Sunset Club

2012 – Gods and Godmen of India

2012 – Agnostic Khushwant: There is no God

2013 – The Good, the Bad and the Ridiculous

1989 – More Malicious Gossip

1992 – Sex, Scotch & Scholarship

2000 – Big Book of Malice

2013 – Khushwantnama

2012 – The Freethinker’s Prayer Book and Some Words to Live By