Author: Michael Nava

Profile: Michael Angel Nava is an American writer and lawyer. He is born in Stockton, California. He completed his education at Stanford Law School (J.D) and Colorado College (B.A.) He has worked on the staff for the California Supreme Court and ran for a position in the Supreme Court in 2010. An eight-volume mystery series featuring an openly gay protagonist (a criminal lawyer) has been authored by him.

He spent his growing up years in Greenland which is principally a working-class neighborhood in Mexico, in Sacramento, California. After his maternal family escaped the Mexican Revolution, they settled there in the year 1920. Nova began writing at the age of 12 years, a time when he came to know he was gay. In his family he was the first one to go to college and attended Colorado College and developed special liking for writing and literature. He joined David Mason (poet) and David Owen (humorist and writer).  He completed his graduation with a Bachelor of Arts degree in History in 1976.

After receiving the Thomas J. Watson Fellowship he went to Madrid and Buenos Aires did translation of works by Ruben Dario, the Spanish-American poet after which he considered graduate education in History or English. Nava enrolled in Standford Law School and in 1981 received his J.D. He worked as prosecutor and deputy attorney in Los Angeles City Attorney’s office and became associate at Horvitz & Levy, an appellate boutique firm in 1985, worked as judicial staff attorney in California and later moved to Northern California and settled in San Francisco. He was member of the State Bar of California’s Council on Access and Fairness from 2007 to 2009 and ran for Seat 15 of the San Francisco Superior Court in 2010.

Writing style: Michael Nava’s genre is crime novels.

Published Texts:

Henry Rios novels

1986 – The Litte Death

1988 – Goldenboy

1990 – Howtown

1992 – The Hidden Law

1996 – The Death of Friends

1997 – The Burning Plain

2001 – Rag and Bone

2016 – Lay Your Sleeping Head

2019 – Carved in Bone

The Children of Eve

2014 – The City of Palaces

Other Works

1994 – Created Equal: Why Gay Rights Matter to America

1997 – Finale: Short Stories of Mystery and Suspense

1991 – Hometowns: Gay Men Write About Where They Belong

1994 – A Member of the Family: Gay Men Write About Their Families


Awards and Acknowledgements:

Six Lambda Literary Awards

Critical acclaim in the Latino and LGBT communities

2001 – Awarded the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement from a LGBT professional group within the publishing industry, called Publishing Triangle.

2002 – Colorado College gave him a Doctor of Humane Letters honorary degree in recognition of his literary achievements