One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez

Title: One Hundred Years of Solitude

Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Context : One Hundred Years of Solitude is a historical fiction novel by Gabriel Garcia Marques, set in Columbia in the 1800s. This is one of the most acclaimed and beloved novels of the twentieth century.  This is a bestselling, brilliant landmark novel that presents the story of the Buendia family and records the incongruous squabble between the desire for need for love and solitude in imaginative, rich prose that defines a whole genre termed as ‘paranormal realism’.


The story is about a mythical and isolated town named Macondo. The birth and death, the rise and fall of Macondo has been presented well through the history of the Buendia family. The Buendias have founded the family. Maacondo does not have any contact with the world outside. The town is visited occasionally by only the gypsies to sell technologies like telescopes and ice.

In the art of fiction, this novel is a masterpiece indeed. One Hundred Years of Solitude is a magnetic, inventive, sad, amusing and alive with unforgettable women and men, filled with empathy, truth and a songlike magic that strikes the soul.

Jose Arcadio Buendia, is an inquisitive and impulsive patriarch of the family. He investigates obsessively into mysterious issues and maintains a deeply solitary leadership. All through the novel, his descendents inherit the traits of this character.

While Jose Arcadio his elder child inherits his impetuousness and huge physical strength, Aureliano his younger child inherits his enormous inexplicable focus. Once the innocent solitary state is lost by the village it gradually maintains contact with other towns in the area. The peaceful Macondo town now is a place of death and violence, as civil wars start. Aureliano becomes leader of the Liberal rebels. During and after the war, the governments of Macondo changes many times. At one point of time the cruelest Buendia of all is Arcadio. He rules like a dictator after which a firing squad shoots him eventually. A mayor is appointed later who rules peacefully till he is killed in another civil uprising. A peace treaty is signed, and the civil war ends, after his death.

Other works by the Author:


1962 – In Evil Hour

1975 – The Autumn of the Patriarch

1985 – Love in the Time of Cholera

1989 – The General in His Labyrinth

1994 – Of Love and Other Demons


1955 – Leaf Storm

1961 – No One Writes to the Colonel

1972 – The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Erendira and Her Heartless Grandmother

1981 – Chronicle of a Death Foretold

2004 – Memories of My Melancholy Whores

Which board is better between ICSE and IGCSE? And why What is the difference between Cambridge and IB board What is the Best Way to Prepare for the Math IGCSE Exams What is Physical Education? A Comprehensive Guide to its Importance and Benefits What are the 5 essential elements of PYP