Patricia Highsmith

Author: Patricia Highsmith

Profile: Patricia Highsmith was an American novelist and short story writer. She was born in Fort Worth, Texas, U.S. and died in Locarno, Switzerland. She completed her education at Julia Richman High School. Patricia Highsmith’s genre includes suspense, crime fiction, psychological thriller and romance. She has been part of the modernist literature, literary movement. Novelist Graham Greene has dubbed her as ‘the poet of apprehension’.

Writing style: Patricia Highsmith is known best for her psychological thrillers including her series of five novels featuring the character Tom Ripley. Her writing is influenced by existentialist literature and questioned notions of popular morality and identity.


Published Texts:



1950 – Strangers on a Train

1952 – The Price of Salt

1954 – The Blunderer

1957 – Deep Water

1958 – A Game for the Living

1960 – This Sweet Sickness

1962 – The Cry of the Owl

1964 – The Two Faces of January

1964 – The Glass Cell

1965 – A Suspension of Mercy

1967 – Those Who Walk Away

1969 – The Tremor of Forgery

1972 – A Dog’s Ransom

1977 – Edith’s Diary

1983 – People Who Knock on the Door

1986 – Found in the Street

1995 – Small g: a Summer Idyll

The ‘Ripiliad’

1955 – The Talented Mr.Ripley

1970 – Ripley Under Ground

1974 – Ripley’s Game

1980 – The Boy Who Followed Ripley

1991 – Ripley Under Water

Short story collections

1970 – Eleven

1975 – Little Tales of Misogyny

1975 – The Animal Lover’s Book of Beastly Murder

1979 – Slowly, Slowly in the Wind

1981 – The Black House

1985 – Mermaids on the Gold Course

1987 – Tales of Natural and Unnatural Catastrophes

1990 – Chillers

2002 – Nothing That Meets the Eye: The Uncollected Stories

Other Books

1958 – Miranda the Panda Is on the Veranda

1966 – Plotting and Writing Suspense Fiction

Essays and articles

1982 – Not-Thinking with the Dishes

1989 – Scene of the Crime

Collected works

1995 – Mystery Cats III: More Feline Felonies

2001 – The Selected Stories of Patricia Highsmith

2011 – Patricia Highsmith: Selected Novels and Short Stories


Awards and Acknowledgements:


1979 – Grand Master, Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy

1987 – Prix litteraire Lucien Barriere, Festival du Cinema Americain de Deauville

1989 – Chevalier dans I’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, French Ministry of Culture

1993 – Best Foreign Literary Award, Finnish Crime Society

2008 – Greatest Crime Writer, The Times

Awards and Nominations

1946 – O. Henry Award, Best First Story, for The Heroine

1951 – Nominee, Edgar Allan Poe Award, Best First Novel, Mystery Writers of America, for Strangers on a Train

1956 – Edgar Allan Poe Scroll (special award), Mystery Writers of America for The Talented Mr.Ripley

1957 – Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere, International, for The Talented Mr. Ripley

1963 – Nominee, Edgar Allan Poe Award, Best Short Story, Mystery Writers of America, for The Terrapin (in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)

1963 – Special Award, Mystery Writers of America, for the Terrapin

1964 – Silver Dagger Award, Best Foreign Novel, Crime Writers’ Association, for The Two Faces of January

1975 – Prix de I’Humour noir Xavier Forneret for L’Amateur d’escargots

Which board is better between ICSE and IGCSE? And why What is the difference between Cambridge and IB board What is the Best Way to Prepare for the Math IGCSE Exams What is Physical Education? A Comprehensive Guide to its Importance and Benefits What are the 5 essential elements of PYP