Patrick Ness

Author: Patrick Ness

Profile: Patrick Ness is a British-American writer, author and producer born in Fort Belvoir, near Alexandria, Virginia, U.S. Later in life, he moved to London. Patrick holds a dual citizenship. He completed his education in English literature at the University of Southern California. He is popularly known for his books written for young adults including A Monster Calls and Chaos Walking trilogy.

His 2 books A Monster Calls and Monsters of Men are both recognized as the best new book for adults or children which were published in the U.K. Patrick is one of the 7 writers who has won two Medals and is the second writer to consecutively win the medals. Screenplay of the 2016 film adaptation of A Monster Calls has been written by Patrick Ness. The writer and creator of the Doctor Who spin-off series Class is Patrick Ness.

He began work at a cable company as corporate writer after his graduation. In 1997 he published his debut story in the Genre magazine. In 1999, after moving to London, he worked on his first novel.

In 2005, U.K. naturalized Patrick as a British citizen. In 2006 he and his partner entered into a civil partnership, just before the Civil Partnership Act came into force. After, same-sex marriage was legalized in California, both Patrick Ness and his partner, got married in August 2013. Besides teaching creative writing at Oxford University, he has reviewed and written for The Sunday Telegraph, The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian and The Times Literary Supplement. Patrick has been first Writer in Residence for Booktrust and Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund.

Writing style: Patrick Ness’s genre is young adult.

Published Texts:


2002 – The Crash of Hennington

2013 – The Crane Wife

Novels for young adults

Chaos Walking series:

1.The Knife of Never letting Go (2008)

2.The Ask and the Answer (2009)

3.Monsters of Men (2010)

Short stories:

1.5. “The New World” (2009)

2.5. “The Wide, Wide Sea” (2013)

3.5. “Snowscape” (2013)

2011 – A Monster Calls

2013 – More Than This

2015 – The Rest of Us Just Live Here

2017 – Release

2018 – And the Ocean Was Our Sky

2020 – Burn Summer


Short stories


2004 – Topics About Which I Know Nothing (collection of 11 short stories)

Uncollected short stories:

2010 – Different for Boys

Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts series:

This Whole Demoning Thing


2016 –A Monster Calls

2016 – Class

2021 –Chaos Walking


Awards and Acknowledgements:

Booktrust Teenage Prize (The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize (The Knife of Never Letting Go)

2008 – Tiptree Award (The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal (The Knife of Never Letting Go)

2009 – Costa Book Award (The Ask and the Answer)

Won the CILIP Carnegie Medal (Monsters of Men)

2011- Shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award (Monsters of Men)

2011 and 2012 – Won the annual Carnegie Medal from British librarians (A Monster Calls and Monsters of Men)

Carnegie shortlist (More Than This)

Many awards have been received for, The Rest of Us, including the Kirkus Best Book of the Year and six starred reviews.