Pippi Longstocking – Astrid Lindgren – 1945 – 70 – Swedish

Title: Pippi Longstocking

Author: Astrid Lindgren

Original language: Swedish

Translation(s): 70 languages

Context: Pippi Longstocking is a translated novel by Astrid Lindgren. Pippi Longstocking’s rebellious, generous, quick-witted, self-sufficient behavior does not allow anyone or anything to take advantage of her or shake her self-belief.

Synopsis: The tale is about Tommy and Annika, his sister who have a new freckle faced, red haired pigtailed neighbor named Pippi Longstocking. This girl does not have parents who can guide her on things. A horse lives in Pippi’s porch.  She is well known for her outrageous behavior. All the three children on their own indulge in some of the most rollicking adventures with the circus, the monkeys, with horses and lots more all of which lead from adventure to another in succession. Though her whole face is covered with freckles, it does not seem to bother her at all, instead she likes them. Pippi Longstocking with her freckly face, carrot-colored locks, her mismatched stockings and not to forget her super-human resilience and strength make her a cultural icon.

Pippi is often earned votes as being of the finest children’s character across the world with fans ranging from politicians, astronauts, celebrities and more. Pippi is seen all across the globe in photographs of celebrities, tattoos, catwalks and on graffiti works and is no stranger to counter-culture. She is described as a symbol of kindness, female strength, acceptance, fairness and resilience.

Other works by the Author:


Bill Bergson series

1946 – Bill Bergson, Master Detective

1951 – Bill Bergson Live Dangerously

1954 – Bill Bergson and the White Rose Rescue

Children’s Everywhere series

1956 – Noriko-San: girl of Japan

1958 – Sia Lives on Kilimanjaro

1959 – My Swedish Cousins

1960 – Lilibet, circus child

1962 – Marko Lives in Yugoslavia

1963 – Dirk Lives in Holland

1965 – Randi Lives in Norway

1966 – Noy Lives in Thailand

1968 – Matti Lives in Finland

The Children on Troublemaker Street series

1956 – The Children on Troublemaker Street

1961 – Lotta on Troublemaker Street

1971 – Lotta’s Bike

1990 – Lotta’s Christmas Surprise

Emil of Lönneberga series

1963 – Emil in the Soup Tureen

1966 – Emil’s Pranks

1970 – Emil and Piggy Beast

1984 – Emil’s Little Sister

1970 – Emil’s Sticky Problem

Karlsson-on-the-Roof series

1955 – Karlsson-on-the-Roof

1962 – Karlson Flies Again

1968 – The World’s Best Karlson

1951 – Kati in America

1952 – Kati in Italy

1953 – Kati in Paris

Madicken series

1960 – Mardie

1976 – Mardie to the Rescue

1983 – The Runaway Sliegh Ride

Peter & Lena series

1971 – I Want a Brother or Sister

1971 – I Want to Go to School Too

The Six Bullerby Children

1947 – The Children of Noisy Village

1952 – Happy Times in Noisy Village

1963 – Christmas in Noisy Village

1965 – Springtime in Noisy Village

1967 – Children’s Day in Bullerbu

The Tomten series

1960 – The Tomten

1966 – The Tomten and the Fox