Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi

Title: Sailor Moon

Author: Naoko Takeuchi

Context: Sailor Moon is Japanese shōjo manga series illustrated and written by Naoko Takeuchi. The novel was serialized originally from 1991 to 1997 in Nakayoshi. Individual chapters in the series amounting to sixty were published in 18 tankōbon volumes.

Synopsis: The series in the graphic novel Sailor Moon, follow the adventures of Usagi Tsukino a school going girl, in her search for the ‘Legendary Silver Crystal’ a magical artifact also called as ‘Phantom Silver Crystal’. Accordingly she transforms into Sailor Moon. A group of comrades called, the Sailor Soldiers are led by her as they fight against the villains to stop the destruction of the Solar System and the stealing of the Silver Crystal.

The manga was modified into an anime series which was produced by Toei Animation and from 1992 to 1997 it was broadcast in Japan. Based on the anime, three short films, a television special and three animated feature films were also developed by Toei. From 2003 to 2004, Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon – a live-action television adaptation was aired. In 2014, Sailor Moon Crystal, a second anime series was broadcast. Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon with its praise for its humor, characterization and art has received acclaim, since its release. It is one of the best selling shojo manga series worldwide. Millions of readers across have been enthralled with Sailor Moon since its debut in early 1992.

When a stray cat is adopted by Usagi Tsukino, she gets Luna, The talking cat, which is more than what she bargains for. The Talking Cat informs Usagi that she is a magical princess, the Sailor Moon from the protector of the Solar System and from the future. Sailor Moon along with her news friends they mysterious Tuxedo Mask and the Sailor Scouts, sets on the journey to save everyone from the evil powers of the Negaverse.

Other works by the author:


1987-1988 – Chocolate Christmas

1989-1990 – Maria

1990-1991 – The Cherry Project

1991-1997 – Codename: Sailor V

1992-1997 – Pretty Soldier Soldier Moon

1993 – Miss Rain

1996-1997 – Prism Time

1997 – PQ Angels

1998-2004 – Princess Naoko Takeuchi’s Return-to-Society Punch!!

2001 – Toki Meka!

2002 – Love Witch

2005-2006 – Toki Meca!