Author: Samuel R. Delany

Profile: Samuel R. Delany is an American writer, literary critic, professor and editor. He is born in Harlem, New York, U.S. Samuel’s pen names are S.L. Kermit and K. Leslie Steiner. He completed his education at Dalton School and Bronx High School of Science. He spent summers in Phoenicia at Camp Woodland from 1951 to 1956.

He has been professor of English, Creative Writing and Comparative Literature from January 1975 till May 2015 at SUNY Albany, SUNY Buffalo and Temple University in Philadelphia until his retirement.

Delany lived with his family in a three story private home between 5 and 6 story Harlem apartment buildings. He begrudged other children and gave them nicknames besides which he gave himself a nickname ‘Chip’. In June 2011 at a reading at The Kitchen, he was identified since adolescence, as gay. At the age of 20 while he settled with his wife Marilyn Hacker in New York, he began writing his first novel, The Jewels of Aptor. From 1962 to 1968 he published nine well known science fiction novels. In 1988 he became a professor of comparative literature at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, later as English professor at the University at Buffalo, University of Chicago, Temple University and then taught there up to his retirement in April 2015.

Writing style: Samuel R. Delany’s genre includes literary criticism, science fiction, memoir, society, literature, erotic literature, creative nonfiction, autobiography and fantasy. Refraction, reflection and Jewels – refraction and reflection of concepts and texts and not just the imagery are strong metaphors and themes used by Delany in his works.


Published Texts:



1962 – The Jewels of Aptor

1963 – Captives of the Flame

1964 – The Towers of Toron

1965 – City of a Thousand Suns

1965 – The Ballad of Beta – 2

1966 – Empire Star

1966 – Babel 17

1967 – The Einstein Intersection

1968 – Nova

1973 – The Tides of Lust

1975 – Dhalgren

1976 – Triton

1978 – Empire

1984 – Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand

1993 – They Fly at Ciron

1994 – The Mad Man

1995 – Hoqq

2004 – Phallos

2007 – Dark Reflections

2012 – Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders

2018 – The Atheist in the Attic

2020 – Shoat Rumblin; His Sensations and Ideas


Short Stories

1967 – The Star Pit

1971 – Dog in a Fisherman’s Net

1967 – Corona

1967 – Aye and Gomorrah

1967 – Driftglass

1968 – We, in Some Strange Power’s Employ, Move on a Rigorous Line

1968 – Cage of Brass

1968 – High Weir

1968 – Time Considered as a Helix of Semi-Precious Stones

1970 – Night and the Loves of Joe Dicostanzo

1977 – Prismatica

1966 – Empire Star

1981 – Omegahelm

1981 – Ruins

1988 – Among the Blobs

1992 – The Desert of Time

1993 – Citre et Trans

1993 – Erik, Gwen and D.H. Lawrence’s Esthetic of Unrectified Feeling

1995 – Atlantis: Model 1924

2003 – Tapestry

2007 – In the Valley of the Nest of Spiders

2017 – The Hermit of Houston

2019 – To the Fordham


Awards and Acknowledgements:

1993 – Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement

1997 – Kessler Award

2002 – Inducted by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame

2007 – Winner of the Stonewall Book Award

2008 – Jury Award for Best Documentary at the International Philadelphia Lesbian and Gay Film Festival

2007 – ‘Calendar boy’ in the ‘Legends of the Village’ calendar put out by Village Care of New York

2010 – Third J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science

2010 – The Third J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction from the academic Eaton Science Fiction Conference at UCR Libraries

2013 – The Science Fiction Writers of America named him its 30th SFWA Grand Master