The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain – 1885 – 65 – English

Title: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Author: Mark Twain

Original language: English

Translation(s): 65 languages

Context: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1884) is a translated novel by Mark Twain. The novel is also called Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. The adventures are recounted in the novel by a nineteenth-century boy named Huck from a Mississippi River town. The entire novel is permeated with unconscious humour and good nature of Huck and idyllic presentations of the surrounding forests and the magnificent Mississippi River.

Synopsis: Huck escapes from his abusive father and along with Jim one runaway slave, he adventurously travels on a raft down the Mississippi River. They make frequent and long voyages down the river. They come across a family involved in a bitter dispute. They also run into two unscrupulous people who pretend to be people from a royal family. The boy also meets the aunt of Tom Sawyer who mistakes him for Tom.

Huckleberry Finn, the young narrator of the book delivers a vernacular and artless speech which adapts well to the vivid character depictions, the poetic and detailed descriptions of the scenes and narrative interpretations which are indirectly clever, ironic and broadly comic, both. Huck portrays the entire range of character types, in fact every class of people residing on or along the Mississippi River. All the experiences Huck encounters help him to not only love and respect his companion Jim but also overcome traditional racial detriment as well. Human cruelty and effects of a corrupt society is also one thread that runs all through their innumerable adventures.

Other works by the Author:

1889 – A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court

1883 – Life on the Mississippi

1865 – The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County

1869 – The Innocents Abroad

1872 – Roughing It – Volume II

1873 – The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today

1875 – Sketches New and Old

1880 – A Tramp Abroad

1892 – The American Claimant

1893 – The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson

1894 – Tom Sawyer Abroad

1896 – Tom Sawyer Detective

1897  – Following the equator-a journey around the world

1899 – The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg

1901 -1Extracts from Adam’s Diary

1902 – A Double Barrelled Detective Story

1903 – A Dog’s Tale

1905 – Eve’s Diary

1906 – Mark Twain’s own autobiography

1906 – A Horse’s Tale

1906 – What is Man?

1907 – Christian Science

1909 – Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven

1916 – The Mysterious Stranger

1945 – A Murder, A Mystery and A Marriage

1962 – Letters from the Earth

1979 – The complete short stories of Mark Twain

2009 – Who Is Mark Twain?

Which board is better between ICSE and IGCSE? And why What is the difference between Cambridge and IB board What is the Best Way to Prepare for the Math IGCSE Exams What is Physical Education? A Comprehensive Guide to its Importance and Benefits What are the 5 essential elements of PYP