Title : The Dovekeepers

Author : Alice Hoffman

Context : The Dovekeepers is a historical fiction novel about an iconic and tragic event set in Ancient Israel. The story in the novel is about 4 extraordinarily sensuous, resourceful and bold women each of whom has arrived by a different path to the Masada Mountain.

Synopsis : Around 2000 years ago, nearly 900 Jews were held on a mountain, Masada in the Judean desert for months, against the armies of the Romans. Josephus, an ancient historian has recorded that the survivors were only five children and two women.

The four bold women who have arrived at the Masada Mountain are Yael, Revka, Aziza and Shirah. Yael’s mother lost her life at childbirth itself, the death of which her expert assassin father never forgave her for. Revka, wife of a village baker had watched the Roman soldiers kill her daughter; she brings her young grandsons to Masada who after witnessing the murder, were rendered mute. A warrior’s daughter Aziza was raised as an expert marksman, fearless lad who finds passion with a fellow soldier. The fourth woman is Shirah born in Alexandria, who is highly knowledgeable in ancient medicine and magic. Shirah is a woman with supernatural power and insight. It is during the distressful days of the war, that the lives of the four fiercely independent and complex women intersect.

All the women are termed as ‘The Dovekeepers’ the one who are retaining secrets about themselves, like from where they have arrived from, who they are, who has fathered them and who they are in love with.

Other works by the Author :


1977 – Property Of

1979 – The Drowning Season

1980 – Angel Landing

1982 – White Horses

1985 – Fortune’s Daughter

1987 – Illumination Night

1988 – At Risk

1990 – Seventh Heaven

1992 – Turtle Moon

1994 – Second Nature

1995 – Practical Magic

1997 – Here on Earth

1999 – Local Girls

2000 – The River King

2001 – Blue Diary

2003 – The Probable Future

2004 – Blackbird House

2005 – The Ice Queen

2007 – Skylight Confessions

2008 – The Third Angel

2009 – The Story Sisters

2011 – The Red Garden

2014 – The Museum of Extraordinary Things

2015 – The Marriage of Opposites

2016 – Faithful

2017 – The Rules of Magic – prequel to Practical Magic

2019 – The World That We Knew

Young Adult Novels

2001 –Aquamarine

2002 – Indigo

2003 – Green Angel

2003 – Water Tales: Aquamarine & Indigo (omnibus edition)

2005 – The Foretelling

2006 – Incarnation

2010 – Green Witch

2012 – Green Heart