The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Title: The Pillars of the Earth

Author: Ken Follett

Context: The Pillars of the Earth (1989) is a historical fiction novel by Ken Follett set in England in the 1100s. Right from passionate romance, fast-paced action, intrigue and much more, everything that a reader expects from this credible author, is here. Feudal England during the twelfth century is one important factor that makes the novel most extraordinary.

Synopsis: Popular known as the master of split-second suspense this novel, The Pillars of the Earth is his bestselling and most beloved novel which presents an outstanding story of a monk in the 12th century who headed doing something that was seemingly impossible. He constructed the greatest and finest Gothic cathedral, ever known to the world.

The theme, of marvelous cathedral is the other factor that makes the novel The Pillars of the Earth more fascinating. Every detail is taken care by Ken Follett while re-creating the flamboyant crude England of the Middle Ages. Be it the castles, the huge forests, the monasteries and the walled towns, all of it become a familiar landscape in the novel.

Center of the whole drama is the building of the glorious cathedral with eerie artistry adopted by the untrained stonemasons. A tale of love, revenge and betrayal is weaved by Ken Follett which starts with the hanging of a naïve man and ends with the humiliation of a king.

Other works by the Author:

Apples Carstairs series (as Simon Myles)

1974 – The Big Needle

1974 – The Big Black

1975 – The Big Hit

Piers Roper series

1975 – The Shakeout

1976 – The Bear Raid

Kingsbridge series

2007 – World Without End

2017 – A Column of Fire

2020 – The Evening and the Morning

The Century Trilogy

2010 – Fall of Giants

2012 – Winter of the World

2014 – Edge of Eternity

Standalone Novels

1976 – Amok: King of Legend

1976 – The Modigliani Scandal

1976 – The Mystery Hideout

1976 – The Power Twins

1977 – Paper Money

1978 – Capricorn One

1978 – Eye of the Needle

1979 – Triple

1980 – The Key to Rebecca

1982 – The Man from St. Petersburg

1983 – On Wings of Eagles

1985 – Lie Down with Lions

1991 – Night Over Water

1993 – A Dangerous Fortune

1995 – A Place Called Freedom

1996 – The Third Twin

1998 – The Hammer of Eden

2000 –  Code to Zero

2001 – Jackdaws

2002 – Hornet Flight

2004 – Whiteout


1978 – The Heist of the Century