Truman Capote

Author: Truman Capote 

Profile: Truman Capote was an American short story writer, novelist, actor, playwright and screenwriter. His alternative title was Truman Streckfus Persons and his nickname was Bulldog. Many of his plays, novels and short stories have been accredited as literary classics including the true crime novel, In Cold Blood and the novella Breakfast at Tiffany’s. He was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States and died in Bel Air, Los Angeles, California, United States. His early writing extended the Southern Gothic tradition though he developed a more journalistic approach later in his novels.

He lived in small towns in Alabama and Louisiana during his childhood with various elderly relatives as his parents were divorced. After studying in private schools he finally started living in Connecticut with his mother and stepfather after which he completed his secondary education at Greenwich High School. In 1945 he attained literary recognition after discontinuing further schooling.

Writing style: Many of Truman Capote’s fictional works are based on his experiences in childhood.

Published Texts:


1954 – House of Flowers

1955 – Children on Their Birthdays

1959 – A Christmas Memory

1966 – In Cold Blood

1967 – The Thanksgiving Visitor

2006 – Capote

2006 – In Cold Blood


1945 – Miriam (short story)

1948 – Other Voices, Other Rooms (novel)

1949 – A Tree of Night and Other Stories (collection of short stories)

1950 – House of Flowers (short story)

1950 – Local Color

1951 – The Grass Harp (novel)

1952 – The Grass Harp (play)

1953 – Beat the Devil (original screenplay), Terminal Station (screenplay – dialogue only)

1954 – House of Flowers (Broadway musical)

1955 – Carmen Therezinha Solbiati – So Chic (short story)

1956 – The Muses Are Heard (nonfiction)

1956 – A Christmas Memory – short story

1957 – The Duke in His Domain – (Profile of Marlon Brando)

1958 – Breakfast at Tiffany’s – (novella)

1959 – Brooklyn Heights: A Personal Memoir (Autobiographical essay)

1959 – Observations (collaborative photography and art book)

1960 – The Innocents (screenplay)

1963 – Selected Writings of Truman Capote (midcareer retrospective anthology – fiction and nonfiction)

1964 – A short story appeared in Seventeen magazine

1965 – In Cold Blood (nonfiction novel)

1967 – A Christmas Memory (movie)

1968 – The Thanksgiving Visitor (short story)

1973 – The Dogs Bark (collection of travel articles and personal sketches)

1975 – Mojave and La Cote Basque, 1965  – (short stories)

1976 – Unspoiled Monsters and Kate McCloud – (short stories)

1980 – Music for Chameleons – (collection of short works mixing nonfiction and fiction)

1983 – One Christmas (short story)

1986 – Answered Prayers: The Unfinished Novel (published posthumously)

1987 – A Capote Reader – Omnibus edition containing most of Capote’s fiction, non-fiction and shorter works

2002 – A House On The Heights – Book edition of Capote’s essay, Brooklyn Heights: A Personal Memoir (1959) with an new introduction by George Plimpton

2004 – The Complete Stories of Truman Capote (anthology of 20 short stories)

2004 – Too Brief a Treat: The Letters of Truman Capote (edited by Capote biographer Gerald Clarke)

2006 – Summer Crossing (novel)

2007 – Portraits and Observations: The Essays of Truman Capote

2015 – The Early Stories of Truman Capote


Awards and Acknowledgements:

1936 – The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

1946 – O. Henry Memorial Award