W.H. Auden

Author: W.H. Auden

Profile: W. H. Auden was an Anglo-American poet. He was born in York, United Kingdom and died in Vienna, Austria. His name is Wystan Hugh Auden. He is a man of letters and an English-born poet who attained fame early in life during the period of Great Depression in the 1930s. He in collaboration with Christopher Isherwood wrote many verse dramas of the Great Depression period. He became a citizen of the United States after settling in the U.S. in 1939. His family shifted to Birmingham in 1908. His family was devoutly Anglo-Catholic, a higher form of Anglicanism. ‘Exciting magical rites’ were his first religious memories. His main intention was to be a mining engineer. Primarily he was interested in science, and specialized in biology. After discovering his vocation as a poet he published his first poem in 1922. Gradually he established a daunting reputation as a sage and poet in 1925.

Writing style: W.H. Auden’s poetry was well known for its technical and stylistic achievement, its variety in terms of content, form and tone and for its engagement with religion, politics, love and morals.

Published Texts:


1933 – Seven Poems and Paid on Both Sides: A Charade

1932 – The Orators: An English Study

1933 – The Dance of Death

1934 – Poems – The Orators and the Dance of Death

1935 – The Dog Beneath the Skin

1936 – The ascent of F6

1936 – Look, Stranger!

1937 – Letters from Iceland

1938 – On the Frontier

1939 – Journey to a War

1940 – Another Time

1941 – The Double Man

1944 – For the Time Being

1945 – For the Time Being

1945 – The Collected Poetry of W.H. Auden

1947 – The Age of Anxiety: A Baroque Eclogue

1930-1944 – Collected Shorter Poems

1950 – The Enchafed Flood

1951 – Nones

1955 – The Shield of Achilles

1960 – Homage to Clio

1962 – The Dryer’s Hand

1965 – About the House

1927-1957 – Collected Shorter Poems

1968 – Collected Longer Poems

1969 – Secondary Worlds

1969 – City Without Walls and Other Poems

1970 – A Certain World: A Commonplace Book

1972 – Epistle to a Godson and Other Poems

1973 – Forewords and Afterwords

1974 – Thank You, Fog: Last Poems

Awards and Acknowledgements:

1948 – Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

1954 – Bollingen Prize

1956 – National Book Award for Poetry

1942 – Guggenheim Fellowship for Creative Arts, US & Canada

1968 – American Academy of Arts and Letters Gold Medal for Poetry

1970 – St. Louis Literary Award