Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Title: Where the Crawdads Sing

Author: Delia Owens

Context: ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ (2018) is a historical fiction novel set in the United States during the 1960s-1970s. The novel, Where The Crawdads Sing, is an exquisite a lyrical and classical poem to the natural worlds. It is a surprising story about the possibility of a murder. The author and Mark Owens, her then-husband are connected to a real-life murder mystery during the year 1995.

Synopsis: A quiet town located on the coast of North Carolina, Barkley Cove was haunted with rumors of the ‘Marsh Girl’ for years. Chase Andrews is a handsome young man found dead in late 1969. When his body is found by the locals, they quickly know that Kya Clark is the suspect. The so-called Marsh Girl herself is Kya Clark. Not only is she intelligent and sensitive but has been a lone survivor in the marsh which she considers as home. At this home learns her lessons from the sand and looks for friends in the sea gulls.

There comes a time in her life when she longs to be loved and cared for and touched. Her wild beauty intrigues two young men who have arrived from the town.  She takes this opportunity to open herself to a great new life. However something unthinkable is in store for her.

In this coming-of-age and heartrending story the author reminds the readers that everyone is forever shaped by the type of children they once have been and that all are subject to the violent and beautiful secrets kept by nature.

Read realted notes  Analysis of Moon Pacific Northwest Camping by Tom Stienstra

Other works by the Author:

1984 – Cry of the Kalahari

2020 – Delia and Mark Owens in Africa: A Life in the Wild

2006 – Secret of the Savanna: Twenty-three Years in the African Wilderness Unraveling the Mysteries of Elephants and People