Analysis of Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie

Title: Shalimar the Clown

Author: Salman Rushdie

Context: Shalimar the Clown (2005) is a post colonial novel by Salman Rushdie. The novel derives its name from the Shalimar Gardens located in the vicinity of Srinagar, Kashmir, India. Around four years were taken by Salman Rushdie to write the novel. The story is about one of the makers of the modern world and a counterterrorism chief, named Maximilian Ophuls.

Synopsis: Max Ophuls is a character born in a Jewish family at Strasbourg and completed his education in Paris. Max is known to be a traveler, a raconteur, a polyglot cosmopolitan and an adventurer. Maximilian Ophuls has a mysterious figure as his driver who is called Shalimar the clown. He is his Muslim driver from Kashmir who is also the subsequent killer. Maximilian Ophuls has an illegitimate daughter India. There is a woman who links them and reveals everything which explains it all finally.

This epic narrative Shalimar the Clown moves to Kashmir, France and England from California and returns back again to California. All through the story there are stories of demons luring princesses from their houses. Besides this there are legends of kings who have no choice but to protect their kingdoms from evil. Love is also explained as mortally dangerous, uncommonly beautiful, gained and lost.

Other works by the Author:

Novels (Fiction)

1975 – Grimus

1981 – Midnight’s Children

1983 – Shame

1988 – The Satanic Versus

1995 – The Moor’s Last Sigh

1999 – The Ground Beneath Her Feet

2001 – Fury

2008 – The Enchantress of Florence

2015 – Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

2017 – The Golden House

2019 – Quichotte


1994 – East, West

1997 – Mirrorwork: 50 Years of Indian Writing 1947-1997

2008 – The Best American Short Stories

Children’s Books

1990 – Haroun and the Sea of Stories

2010 – Luka and the Fire of Life

Essays and Nonfiction

1987 – The Jaguar Smile: A Nicaraguan Journey

1990 – In Good Faith

1992 – Imaginary Homelands: Essays and Criticism, 1981-1991

1992 – The Wizard of Oz: BFI Film Classics

1998 – Mohandas Gandhi

1999 – Imagine There is No Heaven

2002 – Step Across This Line: Collected Nonfiction

2004 – The East is Blue

2009 – A fine pickle

2012 – In the South

2012 – Joseph Anton: A Memoir