Analysis of The Crucible by Arthur Miller

Title: The Crucible

Author: Arthur Miller


Context: The Crucible (1953) is a post colonial novel by Arthur Miller. It is dramatized and partly fictionalized tale of witch trials that took place during the period 1692-1993 at a town named Salem in the Massachusetts Bay Colony.

Synopsis: A group of girls along with Tituba, a black slave go dancing into the forest, in Salem, Massachusetts, the Puritan town in New England. Reverend Parris, a local minister, spots them while they are all dancing. Betty is one of the daughter’s of Reverend Parris who falls into a coma-like state. Lots of people gather around her home and the town is filled with rumors of witchcraft. An expert on witchcraft, Reverend Hale is called to look into the situation. He interrogates the ringleader, named Abigail Williams of the girls group about things that occurred in the forest. Abigail is the ward and niece of Parris. He declares that besides dancing, he doesn’t do anything else.

Reverend Parris puts in all efforts to calm the group of people gathered in his house. In fact he speaks to some of the girls, asking them not to agree to anything. A local farmer named John Proctor comes into the picture takes Abigail aside and talks to him alone. Actually, during the previous year, Abigail was employed at the Proctor’s house and was involved in an affair with him. Elizabeth, fired her husband John Proctor, however Abigail still is in love with Proctor. However he decides to fend her off and makes her understand the she should end her foolishness with the group of girls.

Read realted notes  In Custody’ by Anita Desai

Other works by the Author:

Assorted Fiction

1945 – Focus

1957 – The Misfits

1967 – I Don’t Need You Anymore

1992 – Homely Girl: A Life

The Performance (A Short Story)

2007 – Presence: Stories


1944 – Situation Normal

1969 – In Russia

1977 – In the Country

1979 – Chinese Encounters

1984 – Salesman in Beijing

1987 – Timebends: A Life, Methuen London


Stage Plays

1936 – No Villain

1937 – They Too Arise

1938 – Honors at Dawn

1938 – The Grass Still Grows

1938 – The Great Disobedience

1939 – Listen My Children

1940 – The Golden Years

1940 – The Man Who Had All the Luck

1943 – The Half-Bridge

1947 – All My Sons

1949 – Death of a Salesman

1950 – An Enemy of the People

1955 – A View from the Bridge

1955 – A Memory of Two Mondays

1964 – After the Fall

1964 – Incident at Vichy

1968 – The Price

1970 – The Reason Why

1970 – Fame

1972 – The Creation of the World and Other Business

1974 – Up from Paradise

1977 – The Archbishop’s Ceiling

1980 – The American Clock

1980 – Playing for Time

1982 – Elegy for a Lady

1982 – Some Kind of Love Story

1986 – I Think About You a Great Deal

1985 – Playing for Time

1987 – I Can’t Remember Anything

1987 – Clara

1991 – The Ride Down Mt. Morgan

1993 – The Last Yankee

1994 – Broken Glass

1998 – Mr. Peters’ Connections

2002 – Resurrection Blues

Read realted notes  The Cockroach – Kevin Halligan

2004 – Finishing the Picture