Analysis of The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

Title: The God of Small Things

Author: Arundhati Roy

Context: The God of Small Things (1997) is the tale of the twins, Estha and Rahel. The God of Small Things is Arundhati Roy’s prize winning debut novel fuelled by magic while being rooted in anguish. The lives of the fraternal twins is destroyed by the ‘Love Laws’ that lay down rules on how one should be loved, who should be loved and how much.

Synopsis: The twins Estha and Rahel grew up among peppercorns and banana vats in Kerala at the factor of their blind grandmother.  They experienced political turmult scenes in their growing up years. The only thing they had was a childhood spent in a wreck, their beautiful but lonely mother, their youthful innocence, their incumbent and ex-num grand-aunt named Baby Kochamma and Chacko, their uncle and their sworn enemy who was a bottom-pincher, radical Marxist and pickle baron.

The tale is about childhood experiences of the twins and ways in which their lives and behavior of people gets affected by even the smallest of things. The forbidden love theme in the novel can be interpreted that love is indeed an uncontrollable and powerful force that no conventional social code can contain it. The God of Small Things depicts consistent connection of love with sadness, death and loss and is closely related to history and politics. The author seems to stress more on the personal desire connection to bigger themes of social circumstances and history.

Other works by the Author:


2017 – The Ministry of Utmost Happiness


1998 – The End of Imagination

1999 – The Cost of Living

1999 – The Greater Common Good

2002 – The Algebra of Infinite Justice

2002 – Power Politics

2003 – War Talk

2004 – An Ordinary Person’s Guide To Empire

2004 – Public Power in the Age of Empire

2004 – The Checkbook and the Cruise Missile: Conversations with Arundhati Roy

2008 – The Shape of the Beast: Conversations with Arundhati Roy

2010 – Listening to Grasshoppers: Field Notes on Democracy

2011 – Broken Republic: Three Essays

2011 – Walking with the Comrades

2011 – Kashmir: The Case for Freedom

2013 – The Hanging of Afzal Guru and the Strange Case of the Attack on the Indian Parliament

2014 – Capitalism: A Ghost Story

2016 – Things that Can and Cannot Be Said: Essays and Conversations

2017 – The Doctor and the Saint: Caste, Race and Annihilation of Caste, the Debate Between B.R. Ambedkar and M.K. Gandhi.

2019 – My Seditious Heart: Collected Non-Fiction